Dialogues for Artists in a Changing World (Malaysia but Online)

EventsDialogues for Artists in a Changing World: Florescence, Neuroaesthetics, and Intercultural Art, University Pendidakan Sultan Idris, Selangor, Malaysia, Online, October 1, 2021.

Dialogues for Artists in a Changing World

Florescence is the term used to refer to flowering; a potent image that recurs throughout art history with shifting contexts and symbolism. Lida Sherafatmand, co-author of the Manifesto of Florescencism, will discuss her belief in the power of art to contribute to social and environmental equilibrium, and its ability to resonate beyond geographic borders. Dr. Ramin Hajianfard, Senior Lecturer in Art & Design at the University Pendidakan Sultan Idris, Malaysia, whose research interests include peace painting and intercultural aesthetics, will participate as well. Touching on the importance of art having an awareness of other disciplines, including psychology and social science, the conversation will explore the political power of an aesthetics of gentle beauty and the importance for painting to be in constant conversation with many different spheres, as well as how research into neuroaesthetics can widen the scope of understanding of the ways in which art interacts with and affects viewers.

The event is scheduled for Friday, October 1, 2021. The times are as follows:
Malaysia – 10.50pm / 11pm start
Central Europe – 4.50pm / 5pm start
UK/Ireland – 3.50pm / 4pm start
East Coast US – 10.50am / 11am start
West Coast US – 7.50am / 8am start

(Follow the link in the first paragraph to participate.)

Author: Center for Intercultural Dialogue

Wendy Leeds-Hurwitz, the Director of the Center for Intercultural Dialogue, manages this website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s